ALGOP Qualifying Ends for HD-73, SD-14 Special Elections

The Alabama Republican Party closed its candidate qualifying period for the Alabama House District 73 and Senate District 14 special elections on Tuesday, January, 2021 at 5 p.m., per the proclamation issued by Governor Kay Ivey.

The following individuals have qualified to run for HD-73:

  • Joseph Daley
  • George Henry
  • Leigh Hulsey
  • Kenneth Paschal
  • Kerri Pate

The following individuals have qualified to run for SD-14:

  • Joseph Barlow
  • Donna Strong
  • April Weaver

The Special Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 30, 2021. If a run off election is needed, it will be held on on Tuesday, April 27, 2021. The general election will be held on Tuesday, July 13, 2021.
The vacancy in House District 73 occurred following the election of Matt Fridy to the Alabama Civil Court of Appeals. The district is located in Shelby County.

The vacancy in Senate District 14 occurred following the appointment of Cam Ward as director of the Alabama Board of Pardons and Paroles by Governor Ivey. The district includes portions of Shelby, Bibb and Chilton Counties.


Alabama Republican Party